fbpx
Rob's Transmissions

401-432-7535

Rhode Island State Inspections

Official Rhode Island Inspection Station #473LD

The State of Rhode Island requires safety and emissions checks on registered vehicles. Cars and light trucks with a gross vehicle weight of 8,500lbs or less registered in Rhode Island require a biennial emissions and safety inspection.

All newly registered vehicles (except new vehicles) must have a valid Rhode Island inspection certificate (sticker) or pass a Safety and Emissions inspection within 5 days of registration. Failure to comply may result in registration suspension until such time as the vehicle is brought into compliance.

New vehicles are exempt from inspection for 2 years from the date of purchase or until the vehicle accumulates 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.

Give us a call 401-432-7535 for any questions you have,

  • Things to Know:
    Rob’s Transmission is a Rhode Island State Emission Inspection Station and employs Certified Inspector Repair Technicians

We inspect vehicles up to 15,000lbs

Up to and including 8,500 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

Light Duty Vehicles and

Light Duty Trucks

All Light Duty Vehicles and Light Duty Trucks (Gas & Diesel powered) registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a Safety and Emissions test at least once every 24 months.

Rhode Island RV Inspection Station

Heavy Duty Vehicles &

Heavy Duty Trucks

All Heavy Duty Vehicles and Heavy Duty Trucks registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection at least once every 12 months.

Greater than 8,500 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

Heavy duty truck inspections

Trailers and Semi-Trailers

Greater than 1,000 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

All Trailers and Semi-Trailers registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

trailers

Motorcycles

All Motorcycles registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

Rhode Island Motorcycle Inspection Station

Not all safety inspection stations are equipped with diesel inspection equipment.

  • Choose a station that can inspect your diesel-powered vehicle.

Give us a call 401-432-7535 for any questions you have,

Livestock Trailers

All Livestock Trailers and Livestock Semi-Trailers (irrespective of gross weight), registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

We are happy to provide your vehicle with a quality and thorough safety and emissions inspection.

Antique Vehicles

Vehicles registered exclusively with Antique Plates are exempt, however, the vehicle may be maintained solely for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, and other functions of public interest and may not be used primarily for the transportation of passengers or goods over any public highway.

vintage vehicles

Vehicles Purchased from

Licensed Dealers

  • All used vehicles purchased from a licensed Rhode Island dealer are required by law to have a new sticker at the time of sale. This inspection can be no more than 90 days prior to the date of sale and the vehicle can not have accumulated more than 500 miles from the mileage at the time of inspection.
  • All vehicles purchased from an out of state dealer must pass a Rhode Island inspection within 5 business days of registration in Rhode Island. Out of state inspection stickers will not be honored on vehicles registered in RI.
rhode island dealer purchase inspection

Choose ROB’S as your Inspection Station

Don’t forget your registration!

When taking your vehicle for inspection, you must present your vehicle’s registration to the inspector or the inspection cannot be performed.

Give us a call 401-432-7535 for any questions you have,

Or to set up an appointment

( We will do our best to accommodate your preferred date / time )

© 2021 Rob's Transmissions

Powered by 5kMedia

Call Now
Directions